Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with South Melbourne Districts


Senior Football Best and Fairest results

9 months ago By Deborah Konopnicki

Last Friday night we celebrated an historic year for the South Melbourne Districts Football club.

With the 2017 season coming to an end for the men and women, it was time to reflect on what we achieved. There were a plethora of awards handed out to very deserving winners, each who have now etched their names into the history books of this great club.

Senior Men's:
J.J. King Medal (B&F) – Harry Rothwell
L.J. Nash Medal (B&F Runner up) – Stephen Clarke
Sid McKillop Medal (Coaches Award) – Jordy Heis
Peter Bedford Medal (Most Improved) – Jamie Brooker

Senior Women’s:
B&F – Lauren Gibbs
B&F Runner up – Bridget Lane
Coaches Award – Kath Sobey
Most Improved – Erin Pratt
Leading Goal Kicker – Amanda Ventura and Lauren Gibbs
Volunteer of the Year – Johnny Holdsworth
Best Club Person - Rachel Urquhart, Meg Brydon and Deb Konopnicki

Men's Reserves:
J. Williams Medal (B&F) – Dara Blake
B&F Runner up – Scott Balestra
Coaches Award – Fergus Reen
Club awards:
J. Doyle Medal (Best Club Person) - Ben D’Amelio
Darren McKillop Medal (Youth award for showing team and club spirit) – Alexander Scott
Gus Heffernan Award (Past Players Award Most Courageous) – Charlie McMahon
Kidd Family Trophy (Outstanding Service) – Holdsworth Family, (Kerry Boulton)

200 Games: Sam Atherton
150 Games: Daniel O’Dea
50 Games: Jason Clifford, Ben D’Amelio, Rory Kennedy, Jack Eastman, Benjamin Rose, Kenson Phongthai and Bryce “Danger” Leigh

A massive congratulations to everyone named above, and anyone that pulled on a Bloods jersey in season 2017.

The major awards have all been named after legends of the Districts. You can click through to this link to find out about why they are so special to the club.

There were a few big announcements from the evening as well. Simon McMahon has generosity put his hand up to take on a role of the Women's team Vice President (after sampling running, water duties and a host of other game-day roles!) We've very excited to have him officially on board.

Women's coach for 2017 Andrew Hibbert has stepped down after a season at the helm. Senior men's coach Shane "Zebra" Zantuck will take on the reigns of the women in 2018. He brings a wealth of knowledge from his days playing for North Melbourne, South Melbourne and the Melbourne Demons in the then VFL. The women are all incredibly excited to have him on board. The senior men's team are now on the hunt for a new coach.

Club president Tony PilImon is stepping down after many years of appreciated service at the club. Everyone from senior football would like to send out a sincere thank you for all of the support and guidance that he has provided. Vice President David Roberston will take over the position for the 2018 season. We are all enthusiastic about Robbo's vision and look forward to what we can all achieve together.

Updated 11:19 - 12 Sep 2017 by Deborah Konopnicki

Where next?

Registration, Re-Registration & Transfers Note: Registrations for 2016 remain open. All players are required to register prior to playing.
Men's senior pre-season training With the recommencement of training on Monday 22nd January, we have only 7 weeks before practice matches start.


Loading comments

Sat 26 Aug
Mens Football La Trobe University AFC
League 55 – 85
Sat 19 Aug
Mens Football Richmond Central
League 49 – 142
Sat 12 Aug
Mens Football Swinburne University AFC
League 18 – 122

Team sponsors

Club sponsors